Bavarian parliament elections 2013


Plenarsaal des Bayerischen Landtags © Bildarchiv Bayerischer Landtag, Foto Rolf Poss

The voters had their say yesterday in Bavaria - not only for parliamentary elections (Landtag), but also for local district representations (Bezirkstag) and 5 referendums about changes to be made to the Bavarian Constitution.

With 47.7% of the votes (+4.8% compared to the 2008 elections), CSU (christian-social party) wins this 17th legislature with an absolute majority in the Landtag. The second strongest party is the SPD (social-democratic party), with 20.6% of the votes (2008: 18.6%). The Grünen (green party) earned 8.6% (2008: 9.4%), the Freie Wähler 9% (2008: 10.2%) and the FDP (liberal party) only 3.3% of the votes (2008: 8%). With less than 5%, the FDP will not be represented in the new Landtag. Following the 2008 elections, FDP and CSU had formed a coalition. 

Current seats in the Bavarian Landtag:

  • CSU: 101 out of 180 seats (2008: 92)
  • SPD: 42 seats (2008: 39)
  • Freie Wähler: 19 seats (2008: 21)
  • Die Grünen: 18 seats (2008: 19)

At 63.9%, the voter turnout was 4% higher than in 2008. In all likelihood, Horst Seehofer (CSU) should be reelected Minister-President of Bavaria in the upcoming days.

CSU also won in the regional representations (Bezirkstage). These "district parliaments" are elected in each of the 7 Bavarian districts and are part of the municipal politics level in Bavaria. They are always elected at the same time as the Landtag, and exist in no other German Land.

The 5 referendums were all approved by a vast majority of the population. There will thus be changes in the Bavarian Constitution on the means to ensure equal living and working conditions across the Land, on the support for volunteer work in the community, on issues related to the EU, on debt impediment, and on a better financial support of municipalities. More information (in German) here: