LMU Psychology Professor Dr. Reinhald Pekrun receives John G. Diefenbaker Award


Dr. Reinhard Pekrun - www.psy.lmu.de

Dr. Reinhard Pekrun is a psychology professor from the Ludwig-Maximilians Universität (LMU) in Munich, In June 2015 he was selected for the John G. Diefenbaker Award, which funds a German scholar to visit Canada to research, teach and advance knowledge in a particular field. Through this award, Dr. Pekrun will stay at the University of Manitoba to collaborate with Canadian scholars to advance research on the role emotions play in learning, memory processes and cognitive performance.

The annual award, created in 1991 and doted with a 95,000$ grant, honours the memory of former Prime Minister John G. Diefenbaker and is administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. It is a counterpart to the Konrad Adenauer Award, created by Germany for Canadian scholars in 1988, which is administered by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The spirit of the awards is to encourage exchange between scholarly communities in Canada and Germany.

Reinhard Pekrun holds the Chair for Personality and Educational Psychology at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. His research areas include achievement emotion and motivation, personality development, and educational assessment. He pioneered research on emotions in education and originated the Control-Value Theory of Achievement Emotions. Pekrun has authored 21 books and more than 200 articles and chapters. He also is a Fellow of the International Academy of Education and of the American Educational Research Association. He served as President of the Stress and Anxiety Research Society, Dean of the Faculty for Psychology and Education at the University of Regensburg, and Vice-President for Research at the University of Munich. In an advisory capacity, Pekrun is active in policy development and implementation in education.

Read an interview with Dr. Pekrun about his upcoming stay at the University of Manitoba.

Source: http://canadacouncil.ca/