Did you know that...

Previous <   Start   > Next


The Max-Planck-Society for the Advancement of Science (Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, MPG) is headquartered in Munich, Bavaria's capital.

Heir of the "Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e. V.", the MPG was created in 1948. MPG's symbol is Minerva, god of War and Wisdom and protector of Knowledge. The institution was named after Max Planck, co-inventor of Quantum physics

The MPG is a non-profit association dedicated to fundamendal research and publicly financed by all of the 16 German Länder (regions). The goal of the MPG is to foster science, in particular by financing research institutes. The MPG is one of Germany's most important institutions for fundamental research and boasts an excellent reputation worldwide: since 1948, 17 of its scientists were awarded the Nobel Prize.

Learn more: www.mpg.de