Did you know that...

The Walhalla - Bavarian hall of honour

The Walhalla next to the Danube (photo: www.stbar.bayern.de)

The Walhalla is one of Germany’s most important halls of honour. It is located in Donaustauf, 20 km downriver from Regensburg. The classical building was erected between 1830 and 1842 under King Louis I., following the example of the Parthenon in Athens. It is meant to honour eminent German-speaking personalities. Walhalla means “hall of heroes” in Old Norse.

Leading figures can be “admitted” to the Walhalla only 20 years after their death, however no mortal remains can be found there. At the moment there are 128 marble busts and 64 commemorative plaques in this hall of honour, among them Johannes Gutenberg, Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, Albert Einstein, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Albrecht Dürer, Maria Theresia Empress of Austria, Katharina II. the Great, Martin Luther, Otto von Bismarck, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner, Richard Strauss, and the commissioner himself, Louis I. of Bavaria.

More: www.stbar.bayern.de