Regional Leaders Summit in Munich, 13-15 July 2016


The Regional Leaders Summit (RLS) is a forum comprising 7 regional governments (state, federal state, or provincial) spanning 4 continents, which together represent approximately 177 million people across five continents, and a collective GDP of 3 trillion USD. Since 2002, the heads of government for these regions have met every two years for a political summit. These summits offer the RLS regions an opportunity for political dialogue. The regions are:

  • Bavaria (Germany),
  • Georgia (USA),
  • Québec (Canada),
  • São Paulo (Brazil),
  • Shandong (China),
  • Upper Austria (Austria),
  • Western Cape (South Africa).

The 8th meeting will take place in Munich, 14-15 July 2016, chaired by the Bavarian PM Horst Seehofer, 14 years after the initiative was launched there. The PM of Quebec Mr. Philippe Couillard will be attending, at the same time travelling to Bavaria accompanied by the Minister of Economic Affairs, Ms. Dominique Anglade, as they head a Quebec business delegation in the Aerospace, Energy and Automation industries.

During the 6th summit in São Paulo in 2012, the RLS member states adopted a Final Declaration, which included a commitment to joint research and innovation initiatives in the field of renewable energy.

RLS-Sciences seeks to leverage the unique composition and strengths of the RLS network to support scientific research within and between the RLS regions. It works to generate and support academic, scientific, and technological exchanges, as well as the initiation of multilateral research projects. The existing resources of RLS-Sciences include its scientific network, the existing bilateral relationships between the RLS members, and its pilot project, the Energy Network (2013-ongoing). Further multilateral research projects in the fields of digitalization, aerospace, and small satellites are currently under development.

More details about the program