FC Bayern Munich

FC Bayern Munich was founded in 1900 and is not only Bavaria’s sports star, but also Germany’s most successful soccer club. 23 times the winner of the Bundesliga (the German soccer championship) and 15 times the winner of the German Soccer Association Cup, Bayern Munich holds the record of wins in both the Championship and the Cup and has won the FIFA Club World Cup twice (1976, 2001). 

The club is also a four-time winner of the UEFA Champions League, which is the most prestigious club competition in European soccer. This makes Bayern the 5th most successful European soccer club, after Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, A.C. Milan and FC Liverpool. 

In 2013 FC Bayern München reached another pinnacle of its history, by winning the German Champion, UEFA Champions’ League and German Cup in the same year. It was the first soccer club ever to secure the famous “Treble”. 

Home games of FC Bayern Munich take place at the Allianz Arena, a soccer stadium built in 2005 with a capacity of nearly 70,000 spectators. With more than 170,000 official members, Bayern Munich has by far the largest number of official supporters among German soccer clubs and also one of the biggest soccer fan bases worldwide. 

Whenever Bayern wins the Bundesliga, a gigantic party with 10,000 liters of free beer takes place at Munich’s city center, the Marienplatz. Together with their fans gathered at Marienplatz, Bayern’s players celebrate their win singing and dancing on the balcony of Munich’s city hall.