Cooperation Between Bavaria's and Quebec's Parliaments

The joint parliamentary commission Bavaria-Quebec was instituted in 2002. Its members meet annually, alternatively in Munich and Quebec City, to exchange on topics of common interest – for example the challenges of the digital era, rural development, or meeting the needs of an ageing population…

At the National Assembly in Quebec, each legislature, members of the so-called DANRBA (Délégation de l’Assemblée nationale pour les Relations avec la Bavière) are designated from each of the three main political parties. This parliamentary group is also responsible for the relations with the German Bundestag (federal parliament) as well as other German Länders.

Those regular exchanges are a source of mutual enrichment for both parliamentary corps. Some Quebec MNAs have been members over quite a long period and have thus developed a fond attachment to Bavaria.

In 2017, on the occasion of the 10th session of the Joint Parliamentary Commission, the Landtag was awarded the “Médaille du 50e du MRI”, to highlight the exceptional friendship bond between the two regions.

Shortly thereafter, in 2018, National Assembly President Jacques Chagnon was decorated with the Bavarian Constitution Medal – GOLD – as one of Bavaria’s great friends.


Cooperation parliaments